G3ict: The Global Initiative for Inclusive ICTs
Find Us: FacebookTwitterLinkedInFlickrRSS Share:
Search | Site Map | Contact
You're currently not logged in. Login | Register
Home  »  Events  »  Schedule  »  Event overview
Overview
Proceedings
Agenda

better accessibility through user research

Better Accessibility through Your User Research

  • Online Seminar
  • March 12, 2015
  • Time: 1:30pm ET / 12:30pm CT / 11:30am MT / 10:30am PT

Learn to:

  • Push innovation by designing for extremes 
  • Understand the difference between accessibility and usability

  • Make people comfortable and maximize your learning

  • Open up your recruiting

Why aren’t our sites and products more accessible? According to Whitney Quesenbery, it’s because user research rarely includes people with disabilities. Not because we don’t care about their experience, but because we don’t understand it.

Designing with true accessibility in mind has its challenges. But it is also an opportunity to see the world differently. Meeting and overcoming barriers to accessibility creates a better experience for all of your users.

Whether your interest in accessibility is driven by compassion or compliance, Whitney will demonstrate how designing for users from the outer edges of the bell curve results in amazing ideas and insights. She’ll share her tips for recruiting users with a wide range of disabilities, from physical to cognitive.

For more information, please visit event webpage at http://aycl.uie.com/virtual_seminars/Accessibility_through_User_Research/.